Brisbane’s Michael Nesser’s antics in BBL clash against Sydney leaves Twitter divided

Brisbane Heat’s Michael Nesser showed some jaw-dropping antics at long off in the 19th over against Sydney Sixers to catch Jordan Silk’s loft on Sunday at the Gabba.

However, considering the manner in which the catch was taken, left fans split. While a part of the fans thought he was out, other segment thought that it was not fair enough for batter to be given out in that manner.

26 runs were needed off 11 deliveries when Silk lofted a fullish delivery outside off stump over long off. Nesser fielding in the deep caught it ahead of the boundary line but was running over the boundary cushion as he tried to balance himself. He released the ball in the air but it was falling inside the boundary.

Then came the masterpiece – he jumped and took the catch with both feet in the air, threw the ball outside the boundary, and went over the cushions to finally complete the catch.

Watch the video here –

While this was an excellent effort from the fielder and the batter was given out, this raised questions over the manner of dismissal and also the rules framed.

Sydney Sixers eventually fell 15 runs short of the 225-run target as Brisbane Heat bagged two crucial points.

Earlier, Josh Brown played a sensational innings scoring 62 off 23 deliveries that ensured Brisbane Heat putting up a mammoth total of 224 runs.

Twitter users were not happy with the decision given and didn’t hesitate to express their opinions. One of the users sarcastically suggested keeping the fielders outside the boundary circle, while another praised the presence of mind of the fielder. subsequently issued a release to explain why was the batter given out, citing the law.

Law 19.5.2 states: “A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.”

“Therefore – and this is the really important bit for those who argue you could simply set fielders behind the boundary – as long as the fielder’s first touch of the ball is within the rope, they are free to complete the grab however they like, so long as they aren’t grounded with the ball over the boundary,” the release further stated.

Read all the Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News, India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Tinggalkan Balasan

Alamat email Anda tidak akan dipublikasikan. Ruas yang wajib ditandai *